Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-01-2008, 00:08   #1

New on the forums...

Just wanted to introduce myself to everyone here. My name is Brian, and I'm new to sailing, but have high hopes of a solo circumnavigation to start in the next few years. I'm here for info on what type/size boat to purchase, and also solo sailing techniques. I've been trolling the forums and enjoying all the great info.
gobi1570 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 01:49   #2
Armchair Bucketeer

You're not a Pirate are you?

Welcome aboard!
David_Old_Jersey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 02:09   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Welcome aboard, Brian. You'll find a ton of talent and experience here. Maybe you could fill in a little more of your profile so we know where you are...

what size and typ eof boat to buy depends on a ton of variables. Probably the first one is number of crew. A solo cruiser vs a family of 5 have pretty different space needs.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 04:49   #4

Location: Winter land based UK New Forest. Summer months away. Making the transition from sail to power this year - scary stuff.
Boat: Super Van Craft 1320 Power Yacht
Send a message via Skype™ to swagman
Welcome also Brian,
Sounds like you've set some high goals and hope you manage to reach them. I'm sure you'll get the info you need but as stated by Dan - a bit more info about where you aim to sail plus size of crew would assist in limiting suggestions.
JOHN
Old 22-01-2008, 05:24   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Brian,