Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-02-2009, 13:09   #1

Talking Hey, new here. Looking of liveaboards?

Hey!
Well I am actually new to the whole sailing thing, but plan on learning, and developing my skills in the next year. Me and my wife wish to liveaboard a sailboat in about a years time. We are both young, and wanting to travel. It is like a dream that we both share and wish to do! We plan to liveaboard for at least a year and travel as much as we can. Had a few questions and such!

Well I will start by describing my ideal plan lol:
Been looking around at sailboat prices and could find the best prices in the US. Correct me if I am wrong but I seem to be able to find used sailboats around 20-40k.. Well anywho heres my ideal specs:

perferably 1980+ (at most 1975+)
At least 30+ feet (perferably 35')
onboard washroom + shower head.
Stove, and decent size fridge
cruiser/sloop
more open layout to seating area!
fiberglass hull
.. pretty much about it. Heres a good example, and great price for what I am talking about : View Boat Photos - YachtWorld.com

(you can click the top return link to go back to the ads page) This is pretty much what I am talking about. I have seen some similar size boats where one bench is pushed back further and wraps around a small table. I pefer the table way more, because it seems to make the boat feel larger inside ;D

..Now ideally I would try to find a boat like this around 20-25k.. spend some good time reno-ing it up. Adding features to make it more livable.