Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-04-2020, 18:57   #1

Hello from South Texas

I am about 10 miles north of Mexico and about 30 miles inland. I have very little sailing experience, mostly small catamarans and Sunfish...I have some delusions of grandeur in that I'd like to someday sail to the Caribbean with my family (after experience and going up a few boats).

Currently in the market for my first boat, struggling between a simpler 14-16' or a larger mid 20s boat. I need something I can trailer but a slip isn't out of the question. The lower laguna madre is the protected waters here and it's average depth of 3' means only certain boats need apply.

I'd like to have some conversations with some local guys if there are any here to get a better feel for what I can do in my area. The idea of sailing the same 10 mile square doesn't sound appealing aside from learning...just not sure what I can do locally. I've been meaning to reach out to the yacht club here but we're currently doing the "shelter-in-place" thing...plus works been busy so that hasn't happened yet.

Looking forward to learning a lot here and thank you for having me.
GByrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 03:43   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Hello from South Texas

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, GByrd.
Limited to 3 Ft (or less), you'll likely be (<20') sailing dinghies, not (mid 20') keelboats.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 05:15   #3

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401

The only sailing I’d do in Laguna Madre is catamarans/sunfish, or maybe a westwight potter.

Unless your goal is to sail endlessly up and down the ICW you need a shallow draft and a boat light enough to manhandle off of shoals.