Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2005, 21:26   #1

Hello

I grew up on/near the water in Carrabelle, FL, a place traditional where you are from and not where you are going. I now live in Panama City, FL. Sailing has always intrested me so I finally made the first step by enrolling in a two day sailing class at Tyndall, AFB.

I would like to cruise one day and see if Viet Nam is as lovely from a boat as it is from the air.

Since I do not know diddly squat about sailing or boats in general, I will do a lot of listening and little opining. This should be easy to do as I am a professional pilot and everyone knows that we do not have strongly held beliefs and always sit quietly aside to listen to sage advice.
Old 13-08-2005, 23:45   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Best advice is to just get out on the water - any way you can! Experiance all you can in person. If you like it you'll know it and enjoy it even more.

A class is a good way to learn boats, meet people, and as I say get out on the water. It's where it all begins. No telling where you might end up going.

You'll find a lot of information on this forum from a lot of people who started at the beginning some time. We all have good advice and some bad advice too<g>. You'll be welcome any time.
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2005, 06:09   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43
Build your own...

Plan to build your own boat.
The knowledge that you will gain will be invaluable, even if you never do it.
Boracay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2005, 02:13   #4

Love To