Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2017, 05:09   #1

Are you a diver?

I'd like to become dive certified, but I'm very afraid of being in the water.

I'm not afraid of the water itself, its the things in the water. I have the unrealistic fear, especially in this murky chocolate milk type of water we have on the gulf coast, that I'll be swimming along with no visibility and all of a sudden being grabbed and/or stumbling across a dead body. Don't ask me where I came up with that, but I work in law enforcement and I've seen one too many horror movies I guess. I'm also from South Louisiana, so we don't get in water we can't see the bottom of either because you never know whats lurking below.

I also don't like fish touching me. When I was younger, my parents took us to Perdido Key FL for vacation, and I remember the mullet pecking at my heiny while floating in an inner tube. Ever since then I can't stand to be in water I can't see the bottom of. I love to fish, but can't even stand wade fishing.

While we were in St. Maarten last month I really enjoyed snorkeling, but the only thing that bothered me was the limited vision. The peripheral vision blocked by the mask was a bit overwhelming.

So did any of you have the same fears when you started? And if so, how did you overcome them?
TooCoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 05:47   #2
Now on the Dark Side: Stink Potter.

Boat: Sea Hunt 234 Ultra
Re: Are you a diver?

Diving may not be for you:
While scubadiving and sucking on a bottle, it is best to remain calm. More control and you use less air.
If you are diving in a near state of panic you could die: Shooting to the surface from 100 feet without safety stops could kill or give you a bad case of the bends.