Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-08-2022, 08:43   #91

Boat: Chris Craft 381 Catalina
Re: A Realization

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbmaise View Post
Isn't this an existing vessel that used to have stainless steel plates with backers?
I'm pretty sure he's never had chainplates installed at all on this boat. So the choice was between making the composite ones or having stainless ones made.
rslifkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2022, 08:54   #92

Boat: Catalina 22 Sport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chotu View Post
I am building the boat to have the perfect craft.
Chofu -
I have read the entire thread and this sentence is what stood out to me. I am a cruising noob, but I don't think this issue is all that different in cruising than in many other sports/hobbies/recreations. Or life in general. I admire people who seek perfection. I don't myself. The seeking of perfection is a never ending quest to reach for the ring, instead of getting to a practical end of a problem. The folks who seek perfection have a willingness to suffer in their quest, which is why I admire them. I don't mean this in a literal mental health sense, but it is a form of madness because the simple fact is that it can't be achieved.
I sense that you are suffering. You want perfection and you want a practical end goal and you cannot have both. I would encourage you to think hard about which one of these two that you want and then give up on the other one. I humbly suggest that once you do so, you can be at peace and do what you need to do. You have a chance to be happy if you make that decision. If you continue to want both, you are pretty much guaranteed to never be happy.
lestersails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2022, 08:55   #93

Boat: 50ft Custom Fast Catamaran

Quote: