Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2023, 11:33   #1

Newbie and new boat in Florida. Tips for Chesapeake transit+anchoring along the way?

Hi everyone!

Newbie sailor and boat owner here. Just got a nice deal on a Cabo Rico 36 ketch in the Florida panhandle, and I’m just wondering about route planning (and general advice) for a trip north so I can get her to the Chesapeake by around August, to avoid hurricanes.

I took my ASA 101 along with a few boat maintenance classes (outboards, electric, rigging etc etc) but I’m still very new to the actual boat handling side of things. I’m wondering what’s the minimum amount of practice with docking, anchoring, etc yall would recommend before I attempt the trip north?

Vessel is sitting in Carabelle, FL but I won’t be able to get to her till first week of June…hoping that’s not too late to start the trip. I’ve heard there are frequent scary summer thunderstorms in the Gulf and I’m assuming it gets worse as summer progresses.

I’m considering hiring a captain to show me the ropes and assist with getting her to the Tampa Bay Area. Figured I could spend a week or two sailing and anchoring in the Tampa bay to get more comfortable with things, plus I’m just curious about the community there. I know it quite difficult to find liveaboard marinas but how’s the anchoring situation in the Tampa bay in terms of availability and ease of access for a newbie?