Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2023, 20:46   #1

Liveaboard travel to St Thomas

First let me start off by stating that I am just beginning to look at boats, mostly liveaboards. It will probably be atleast a year before I get one. I am now beginning to learn the basics to boating. I am trying to see if a liveaboard boat between 35-50 feet like a Carver or Sea Ray would be an acceptable boat to one day travel from Florida to St Thomas. By some day I mean several years from now once I get some sea miles under my belt and take some boats out and about around central Florida. I know that it would cost a good bit of money just for the gas as liveaboards do not get great mileage on fuel and I now it would be cheaper to fly, but I just thought that one day it would be fun to take my boat to St thomas and spend a week there and then travel back. I also know that there would be several factors to consider...weather, condition of boat, maintenance, several days travel to get there, etc. Just in general, if the boat were good shape and weather looked to favorable would a liveaboard be a safe (main concern) way to travel to St Thomas. Has anyone made this type of trip from central FL or South FL to St Thomas in a liveaboard? Also, I have seen posts on various boating forums mentioning pirating, how serious is this on the route I would possibly be planning?
sean144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2023, 03:44   #2

Boat: 1980 Endeavour 32
Re: Liveaboard travel to St Thomas

Man, I always hate it when someone asks a question and gets no replies...so let me throw one out here for you Sean.