Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2018, 13:44   #1

Cost of live aboard - Sorry another one of those questions

Hi Everyone,

I apologize in advance for another one of those "How much does it cost to live aboard a sailboat" questions. I do understand the answer in most cases is, "it depends". So I'll try to be as specific as possible. I'm a computer engineer by trade, so I tend to over analyze most things. At this stage I'm just doing an initial cost analysis to see if this is within the realm of possibility based on my budget.

I'm in my mid 50's and have dreamed about living on a sailboat since childhood. I've lived frugally and eliminated all dept including housing. I live in the San Fransisco bay area. It would be great to hear from anyone that lives on a boat in the bay area. From what I can tell so far the best chance of finding a slip is to look at the marinas that are deep in the bay towards the delta, or outside the bay like Moss Landings. Even then there could be a significant waiting list.

Everything I've read says that no matter how much you budget, it will cost more. So I've tried to be as realistic as possible. Below is what I'm considering for a budget.

For the boat, I'm interested something in the 38' - 40' range. I'm looking to spend about $80-$90K for a Sloop Style sailboat. I plan to pay cash. I'm also planning to have a $40K cash account for costs outside my budget.

Following is what I'm considering for monthly costs.

Code:
             Per Month     Per Year
Insurance      $116.67    $1,400.00
Property Tax   $106.25    $1,275.00 1.5% of price