Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2015, 19:27   #1

Wind Songs

Hi All, My wife and I are planning to sail into the sunset of our retirement in a few years, and I am an avid guitarist. I need advice from those "Jimmy Buffet" types who can help me in the safe keeping of my beloved guitars in the environment of the sea. For example, I love my Martin guitar but I normally will not even let it out of the controlled atmosphere of our current home. Am I better off to just do my best and live with the result (of certain damage) or sell it to a good home and buy some instruments made of plastic? I hate that thought but my instrument of 30 years does not deserve to be ruined. Thanks for your advice. Am I too paranoid???
Windwake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 19:37   #2
cruiser

Boat: 2007 Beneteau 393 Cyclades
Re: wind songs

I would give my Martin to a friend/family for safe keeping until you are ready to return to it. I would NEVER take a MARTIN near salt water.
hogHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 19:46   #3

Boat: 2001 Bavaria 37

Assuming your boat is enclosed I suggest not fretting and bringing your beloved (guitar that is) along for the ride. I'm an avid guitarist too and have always brought mine. While I only live on a boat 2-3 months out of the year, I've never encountered humidity/temperature issues that were any worse than those on shore. If you are concerned with extreme dryness use an in-guitar or in-case humidifier. FWIW I've found that a good, soft case is much more boat-friendly than a hard shell.
Jim Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 22:04   #4
cruiser

Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter