Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-12-2021, 07:26   #1

HELP reinstalling diesel injectors

I have a trawler with two Yanmar 4LHA-STP engines. I removed the injectors and sent them out to get cleaned and rebuilt. I’ve never done this before and I’m confused about the reinstallation process. at the nozzle end there is a metal collar slid over the nozzle but not firmly attached. I also have a bag of little copper washers. I have eight injectors and 16 copper washers. I’m guessing that the copper washers go at the tip of the nozzle but I don’t want to screw anything up. I’m also guessing that I only need eight washers and they gave me spares, but that’s just a guess at this point. It cost $200 to get each injector rebuilt and I certainly don’t want to mess it up at this point. I’m enclosing two pictures of the injector tip. I would greatly appreciate any thoughts on reinstallation. Thanks in advance.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8842.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	407.3 KB
ID:	250225Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8841.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	404.3 KB
ID:	250226
vanderd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2021, 09:29   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: HELP reinstalling diesel injectors

Disclaimer - I've got zero experience with your engine.

A technique I've found useful in this sort of situation (when I didn't take photographs as I did the disassembly) is to refer to the parts catalog exploded view. Here's (I think) the right catalog. I also think the parts assembly you need is on page 17. If I'm completely wrong, perhaps you can still pursue the strategy.

https://dieselpartseurope.com/media/...-M47803_en.pdf
Old 24-12-2021, 09:44   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Elan 45 impression