Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2024, 14:44   #1

Boat: 1985 Catalina 22
Novice Sailor, looking for advice

Looking for advice from some of the more experienced vets out there on potentially buying a new boat. Bottom line, my ultimate goal is to long-term coastal cruise, maybe even part-time liveaboard, but no desire (currently) for an ocean crossing.

I currently sail an '85 Catalina 22 (swing keel, pop top). I have been single-handing in the south Puget Sound for the past two years, and I have raced on another friends boat out of Tacoma several times. I am far from a great sailor, but I feel extremely comfortable single-handing my boat.

I got her a few years ago for next to nothing, in pretty decent sailing order, apart from a few things I had to re-rig and re-arrange in order to more easily single-hand. I had to purchase a brand new Merc 8hp which has been exceptional.

My immediate issues with the boat are the following: I have virtually no electronics/navigation aboard, no shore power setup, the mast wiring needs refit/repair. I have gotten by with these issues, mostly sticking to my inlet or not straying far from it, and just day-sailing. Also on my wish-list is a Furling Genoa (Currently set up for hank on) and a better navionics situation. The reason I want to upgrade is so I can actually do some weekending and explore the Sound in better fashion.