Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2021, 03:27   #1

Boat: 1987 Elan 31
Inaccessible bilge?

I've recently taken a look at a small 8-metre long Trident 80 sailboat.

One thing stood out: I could not gain access to the keel bolts from within the cabin. Nor could I gain access to the bilge at all? The flooring looked as if it were bolted to the bottom. I've asked the owner where the bilge pump is, and he showed me a small portable pump that he combines with a length of hose to suck out water when it slightly pools in the engine compartment. He seemed perplexed that I would ask about the bilge.

Does this boat not have a bilge?

If not, what happens to water when it gets into the boat?

It pools onto the floor and turns the boat into a bathtub...?

I'm a novice at all things boat-related and would appreciate any insights you might have.
tramuntana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2021, 09:35   #2

Re: Inaccessible bilge?

Here's the SailboatData schematic. It seems as if there truly is no bilge.

A more personal question: would you buy a 26+ foot boat with no bilge or an accessible bilge? If so, what do you consider to be the pros and cons of such a design?
Old 29-03-2021, 11:47   #3

I suppose there are many small boats with a very small bilge, in order to maximise internal space.
In the case of the OP’s boat, those central floorboards must come up somehow. I’m sure they aren’t bolted through the hull.
Yellowtulip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2021, 22:17   #4

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37