Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-01-2011, 18:32   #1

Boat: cal 28
Cal 28 Tiller - Which Kind ?

Hello,

I'm here in Victoria,BC Canada. Our cal 28 tiller just broke and we need a new one. I'm looking at laminated tillers online, and I'm not sure which model/kind we need, or if it's more a matter of preference? They all seem to be about 2" in width at the base where they'd attach to the bolts. We have one that swivels, which is great (So you can lift it vertically, - I'm still learning all the terminology).

I don't know how different they all are. But I know that the marine store in town that sells them brand new is damn expensive, and the online ones have them cheaper.

Currently ours broke at the base (the inside of the wood was rotten), so we're going to cut it down a few inches and put it back on (with some sika flex, maybe the last person didn't seal it?) But we'd like to get one in better condition (i.e. no rot), and keep this one as an emergency tiller. So we can wait a little while to get one online, or keep looking at the boater's exchange for a used one that fits.

Information about how they all differ would be great. I've noticed that the curvature and length seems to be different on some.

thanks.
exordium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2011, 18:47   #2

Boat: Cal 40 (sold). Still have a Hobie 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by exordium View Post
Hello,