Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 09:11   #1

Boat: 1988 Catalina 34
best boat under 80k cruising keys, bahamas, carribean.

Hi, newbie here but have been lurking for a while. I'm sure this type of question has come up before, but I couldn't find anything when I tried to do a search. I currently have a Catalina 34 which is a great boat for the type of sailing we have been doing, mostly weekend cruising with one 10 day trip along the coast in the summer. I have a wife and a 5yr old daughter. With the stress of work and the fact that my daughter is young enough to miss a year of school with out many problems I was thinking about buying a larger boat and taking a year or so off to cruise. I was thinking anywhere from Mexico, the keys, bahama's and Caribean.

I have been sailing for over 10yrs, but am basically self taught. I certainly get from point a to point b, but I wouldnt call myself an expert by anymeans. That being said I would want something fairly forgiving. Is there a boat out there that would be a safe, large enough for a family of 3 to be comfortable living on for $80,000 or less that would be capable of safely cruising to the areas I listed?

Thanks, and sorry if a silly question.

Steven
sworrjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:40   #2

Re: best boat under 80k cruising keys, bahamas, carribean.