Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2011, 10:26   #31

Boat: custom teak ketch 48' Eastwind
Re: Am I Nuts ?

Yes, you probably are nuts but so what?
All boats are a compromise. Big ones, little ones, medium size ones, it doesnt matter.
The brand name of a boat is on par with how much money you want to spend - just like cars. You usually get what you pay for. If you're satisfied with a chevy - go for it.
Personally I wouldnt own a fiberglass boat if it was given to me. So call me a mental case.
40 years ago I bought my 1st sailboat - a 42ft Crocker cutter. I didnt know the 1st thing about sailing but I knew alot about boats as I had been fishing for a living for a few years. I took off from Ft. Lauderdale and never read a newspaper or answered a telephone for 2 years and made my way to Antigua and back mostly by myself. You dont have to be a genius to learn the basics of sailing and the more you do it the better you get. I went from 42 ft to 72 ft and back. I have a Nimble 20 trailer sailor and a 48' teak ketch built in 1941 and I sail it by myself alot. I have more fun with the trailer sailor most of the time - so easy to handle and I sail the damn thing right up on a sandy beach and step ashore. The only thing I dont like about the Nimble is it's fiberglass - at least it looks like wood!
Being an old shipwright working with wood is what I do - it's a labor of love don't you know!
The main thing is - make damn sure you like your boat whatever it is because you will be stuck with it for a long time. You can learn to sail anything that floats - thats the least of your worries.
good luck & have a ball
Geoduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 10:54   #32

Boat: 33' Seawind 1000 Cat