Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2019, 10:05   #1

What's required to crew?

Hi Everyone.
Absolute novice - which will explain a lot of my questions.
Apparently, I don't know how to enter the correct parameters in the search engine.

I have a little water related experience.
Surfed A LOT (Honolulu) in high school and College. Wished I had been a Navy brat, instead of an AirForce brat Oh - and I did stay at a Holiday Inn a few times

So.....I just officially joined the "senior" ranks and I'm tired of watching youtubers on their adventures dreaming about it.

I'm not in a position to afford the fees of ASA classes.
Can I learn to sail through Crewing until I can afford to pay for ASA classes?
Do people accept absolute novices (like me) as Crew?
Right now, I tend to be a night owl - would that be a good Crew fit?
What are the costs associated with Crewing?
Do I have to have my own....life vest, food, weather gear">foul weather gear, money......?

I've surfed for up to 12 hours at a time in Hawaii, but I couldn't swim or surf (never owned a wet suit) in San Diego. In 15 minutes, my lips would get dark purple and I would start shaking uncontrollably (in July) - Would that disqualify me from crewing?
Also, I am a new member to the Diabetic community (but I'm not overweight or obese). Would that disqualify me?