Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2018, 09:39   #1

Vero Beach to West Palm

Hello Everyone!

I'm new to the sailing community with limited sailing experience. I recently acquired a small sailboat and I'm planning to move it from Vero Beach to West Palm.
I was thinking of taking the trip using the ICW but I could some advise.

The boat is 25' with a working 8 HP engine and sails, however, the lights are not 100% so I do not think night time traveling would be possible.

If I were to start the trip early in the Morning where do you guys recommend me to do the first stop and continue the next day?
Also where in West Palm/Lake Worth would any of you recommend anchoring for a few days.
I'd prefer free anchoring or mooring given that my schedule is unpredictable and I wouldn't be sure if I can go back to the vessel within 24 hours.

Please feel free to PM or reply. I'm super excited given this is my first sailboat ! (No name for her yet)
psagion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 09:56   #2

Re: Vero Beach to West Palm

I've made that trip a couple of times. We usually stop at Fort Pierce for the night, then hop outside to West Palm, although you could take the ICW. Anchored in North Lake Worth, a little less busy than the WPB area.
sailingunity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 10:01   #3

there is about 40 nm from Ft Pierce to North Palm Beach, would I have enough daylight to make it if stay in the intercostal?
Also, how doe mooring in N Palm Beach Works?
Old 24-10-2018, 10:17   #4