Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2013, 08:21   #1

Boat: Nautitech Open 46
More registration problems

I am a long time resident of the US ( Green Card) and a UK citizen. I bought an Italian registered boat in Panama. It took 10 weeks to get the Italian deregistration docs.

I can't register it with the USCG ( US Citizens only). I tried to register it with UK small Ships online and they are now asking for proof of UK residency which I do not have as I live in the states.

I feel like a stateless person. I guess I will have to spend the money and form a company to hold the boat.
Any other suggestions
Steel sails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:26   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: More registration problems

Depending on your cruising plans you can easily do a state registration in the USA. Do not have to be a citizen or in some cases not even a resident of the state. Depending on the state it is not too expensive and would not incur any further expenses like annual taxes.

BUT, if you plan on cruising beyond the US or Bahamas the state registration documents could be a problem. The state documents are not as "official" as USCG documentation and will be looked at with suspicion in some places.

Another idea, do you not have any family or friends in the UK that you can use for a mailing address? Or would that open another can of worms and expose you to UK income taxes, VAT and a whole host of hassles?
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:41   #3

Boat: Nautitech Open 46