Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-03-2024, 06:04   #31
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Re: Moody 49 lost on bar at Bahia del Sol, El Salvador

It seems folks kinda missed a point I was trying to make above.

We are a community, and generally we have decent ways of communicating difficulties. That is at least true for the Bahamas, East Caribbean and West Caribbean, and even Cuba. I have zero experience with the Pacific.

So what is in place to give sailors a warning, a good conception, of what this place is like?

Are there no cruising guides that cover that spot?

Apparently many folks know of this bay, it seems cruisers are drawn there. If it is soo bad why have these problems not been communicated?

After reading about it here I would think long and hard about trying that entrance.

But because nothing has been written before now, then I may well have tried rhat entrance prior to this conversation.

Obviously the bar changes significantly. I have experience with that happening. So maybe the bar is in a new and more difficult phase.

And it also seems that the Moody 49 keel snapped clean off. I don’t know how that plays into this story. The previous boat broached with spreaders into the water, IMHO that is VERY FAR from acceptable.

I am not drawing specific conclusions, other than it seems there is a want of adequate prior knowledge being share within the cruising community.

Or is that not true?
hpeer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2024, 06:13   #32

Boat: Finnsailer 38

Quote: