Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-04-2023, 09:31   #1

Boat: Lagoon 46 / Searay Sundancer 350
Cat rounding up despite counter helm

I had an interesting event in our Lagoon 46 that I thought I’d share.

I’m not inexperienced, but not an old salt either. (old, just not that salty!) Most of my experience has been in mono’s years ago, but we've moved to a cat and I’m still learning the ins and outs of cruising cat performance.

We were on a broad reach, starboard tack, AWA about 130-135. Winds were steady about 15 knots. Boat speed about 5-6 knots. Comfy. Quiet. Lulled into a sunny day not-a-care-in-the-world mood. Full main, no jib. (I know some people will stop reading here and say “well, that was your problem,” and they are probably right. More on that in a minute.) At the time, it felt like the self-tacking jib was flailing a little too much and not contributing to our forward motion, so I just furled it.

Comes time to Gybe. I sheet in the main and throw the helm over to port. We pass through the wind and the main fills on the new port tack. I spin the helm almost full to starboard and…nothing. The boat keeps turning to port. In a matter of what seemed like about 8 seconds, we rounded from a port tack broad reach to being close-hauled and heading on about a 70 AWA.