Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2008, 07:17   #1

Boat: Huntingford 48 - Peregrinata
Yacht Delivery Florida to BVI

Hi, I have a lot of experience in the Pacific but none in the Atlantic. I was recently asked to deliver a yacht from Florida to the BVI in mid to late November. I know where to go for weather risks but need some advice on which route to take. The boat is in Fort Lauderdale but I believe I will need to go north first to be able to get north of the Bahamas and offshore. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Peregrinata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2008, 07:38   #2

What kind of boat are you taking?
The route I always took was through NW Providence which runs south of Grand Bahama and north of the Berry Islands, and takes you into the Atlantic between Hole in the Wall, which is the south tip of Great Abaco, and the northern tip of Eleuthra. From there make as much easterly progress as you can (it is usually to windward) and don't turn south until you can easily make your destination.
Hope this helps.
Brian
amarinesurveyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2008, 07:52   #3
Eternal Member

The route from Florida to the Eastern Caribbean islands is often known as, "The Thorny Path". With the mostly easterly winds and currents, and with the islands lying about 65W or further East, it can be a real bear getting to windward, even for big motorsailers.

The type of boat will matter greatly, as the previous poster said.

There are basically two strategies:

1. If you have lots and lots of time, pick a weather window to leave, go as far as you can, then be prepared to hole up for awhile awaiting another favorable window. The waiting time can be days or even weeks at this time of year.