Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-09-2023, 12:25   #1

Boat: Bristol 47.7
Charging lipo with AGM settings

With lipo4 prices plummeting like a Coney Island roller coaster, my 2yo ~1000ah AGM house bank could be replaced for around $3K with lithium batteries reviewers (Will Prowse) seem to like (Redodo 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 w/ 100A BMS) for about $269.99 -10% on Amazon.

Double usable amp hours, better charging rate, longer life, takes less space - a great deal IF I don’t need to upgrade my older charger/inverter when I make the switch.

I have a Mastervolt Mass Combi 12/2500-100 which does not have a separate lipo charge setting. I have heard people saying the AGM charge settings are fine but I find this doubtful.

The Mastervolt AGM charge setting I’m using now
Bulk 14.4/ Absorb 14.25/ Float 13.8

The newer master volt unit (12/3000 - 160) charges lipo at
Bulk 14.25 / Absorb 14.25 / Float 13.5

My question is would the higher bulk and lower float settings damage new lipo batteries?

The Redodo batteries call for Charge Voltage: 14.4V±0.2V so I don’t see that as an issue.

I don’t know what a lower float number means in practical terms. It would seem if the battery never comes to absolute full charge, that could be a problem or a benefit in terms of longevity.

There are other things to consider of course, wind gen. / alternator, but right now I’m focusing on the inverter/charger and if I need to replace it or not. Anyone with thoughts to offer?
SVSeaHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2023, 13:51   #2

Boat: Sabre 34-1 (sold) and Saga 43
Re: Charging lipo with AGM settings

Those bulk/charge numbers should work great. The battery specs seem to be tolerant of 14.6, so your 14.4 should not be a problem.