Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-07-2023, 09:00   #1

Boat: South Coast Marine, Custom Perry Cutter 42
Victron SuperPacks in Hybrid AGM/LiPo System

Anyone have experience with the Victron SuperPacks LiPo batteries, specifically in an application combining them with AGM batteries? I know they can't be in series, and my plan would be to use my 2-bank house battery selector to manually switch between either AGM or LiPo as needed, with DC-DC charger from AGM to LiPo. There are a few "home built" hybrid lead/LiPo systems installs out there but I can't find any info on this what I would consider is to be a simple solution to my aging but still functional AGMs.

Before challenging as to why I would want to do this and telling me to go all in LiPo, I am a mechanical engineer and have designed a lot of battery powered systems from e-bikes and iPads. I understand lithium and the benefits and complexities. I don't really want to replace my nice AGM battery charger, install a new alternator, buy a bunch of systems components (BMS, monitoring, etc) and re-wire my boat this winter. I'm looking for a shorter project that will give me a little more capacity while also benefiting from the simplicity of my existing AGM when it comes to engine starting and charging. I don't mind that my LiPo charging will be "slower" than it could be due to charging from the AGM; our loads are quite low and again I like the simplicity. But I do want to make sure I'm not missing something less obvious that maybe someone who's done this or is more experienced has learned.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
NewDatum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2023, 09:42   #2

Re: Victron SuperPacks in Hybrid AGM/LiPo System

I think you mean LFP (LiFePO4), not LiPO (Lithium Polymer).