Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2023, 19:21   #1

Boat: Seawind 1190 sport
Mastervolt Combimaster - are they throwaways?

I have a 3 year old Mastervolt combimaster. Installed by boat manufacturer, standalone (no czone or masterbus). It worked fine up and was lightly used, plugging in a vacuum cleaner or chargers for power tools and phones. It seems to be dead. No indicator lights on when switched on or off. I took the panel off, connection to batteries was fine and there is plenty of voltage. I can also get shore power onto its 120V inputs. But the thing is just dead, no 120V output and no indicator lights despite position of main switch and pressing overload breaker.

First question: anyone here ever had such a problem? Any suggestions on what to try? I've read the manual thoroughly and there doesn't seem to be much else to try.

Second Question: how does one get help? Their website and manual say contact local dealer. I'm in Nova Scotia, and the only dealer is Radio Holland USA who don't answer any of their numbers, and pressing the number for 'service' gets me disconnected. I called West Marine, they gave me a number for Navico who recently bought Mastervolt. I called the number a couple of times and it says 'all technicians are busy - call later'.

I'm getting a bad feeling about this. I have faint hope this is something easily resolved. But if it needs repair, i wonder if repair cost, shipping, and lead time will make it impractical. They seem great at making these things available for sale, but without service, they are way expensive for a throwaway item.
DougM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2023, 19:45   #2

Boat: Building a Max Cruise 44 hybrid electric cat
Re: Mastervolt Combimaster - are they throwaways?