Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-08-2023, 10:56   #1

Fuses for 12V LED Lights

Hey folks,

I'm still fairly new to the world of 12v circuits and trying to be overly cautious about my wiring setup. I recently replaced all the bulbs in my cabin from incandescent to LED. As far as I'm aware, there are no fuses in this circuit, which is on a 15A breaker.

Did the filaments themselves function as a fuse and do I need to put a smaller fuse ahead of each LED bulb with the switch?

Thanks! Jon
jbox84126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2023, 11:17   #2

Re: Fuses for 12V LED Lights

There are two reasons for fuses, Jon. One is to protect the equipment. Second is to protect the wire.

In case One, the LEDs "load" is minuscule, compared to the lights they replaced. So changing a fuse any fuse, for LEDs makes no sense.

In the second case, if you haven't changed the wiring, then leave the fusing as it is, nothing to change.

The REASON on "fuses to protect the wire" is this: think of your batteries as a big BOMB. If the wires FROM the battery get shorted out for whatever reason, you want the fuse to protect the wires downstream from the power in the batteries.

Blueseas has great wring and fuse sizing tables.

Here's the link to the page, scroll down for the PDF download of the Protect Your Boat With The Correct Size Wire And Fuse - Wire Size Chart: https://www.bluesea.com/support/reference which links to this table:
https://d2pyqm2yd3fw2i.cloudfront.ne...ence/20010.pdf
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2023, 13:16   #3

Thanks...all makes sense...