Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-02-2020, 09:15   #1

Boat: Dufour GL 360
Battery overheating

Quick question as I have no experience with the electrical system, but I'm learning!

I came onto the boat tonight, she had been hooked up to shore power for about 24 hours since I was last on her. I smelled a very strong sulfur smell but didn't think anything of it, thought maybe coming from the head...

Went sailing for a few hours, smell went away. We motored home for about 90 minutes. After docking and tying her down, I went below to clean up and there was the sulfur smell again.

Upon investigation, I determined it was one of my batteries. I have 2-78AH batteries in the house bank. Boat is a year old, factory batteries.

I'm assuming this is a bad battery? I haven't had any battery issues in a year and I've been living aboard in a marina.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks
Ranger06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2020, 10:00   #2

Location: Live aboard in Simonstown (Cape Town) - now Grenada having crossed the Atlantic.
Boat: 1986 Bruce Roberts 45 raised saloon
Re: Battery overheating

Yes it sounds like a bad battery that should be disconnected asap. To check disconnect both batteries and allow to settle for a few hours - I suspect that you will find that one settles to a low voltage.

This is often caused by a shorted cell within the battery, the charge voltage is then spread over 5 remaining cells instead of the normal 6 cells. The 5 cells are now being overcharged causing them to emit that gas smell. You would get the same effect by charging a battery at 17.28v (14.4/5*6).

Before disconnecting check your shore power charge voltage, you may have a problem there that caused the issue in the 1st place.
markcouz is offline   Reply With Quote