Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-04-2020, 13:23   #16

Boat: Swarbrick 40
Re: 5 batteries one red.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moontide View Post
Not sure what you mean by "sit at 13.7" Fully charged should be around 12.7. Is 13.7 with a battery charger or alternator active?
Currently I use the boat most weekends and that is the level displayed when I return to the boat. It's charged with wind and solar.
It rarely gets below 11.8 volts during use.
Old 20-04-2020, 13:25   #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV__Grace View Post
I recently encountered a similar situation with my AGM battery bank and while I'm no expert, I've learned a few things that I'll share.

Yes, definitely check the electrolyte levels on these batteries. Assuming that isn't the problem, next step is to check the voltage of each battery and to do so you must disconnect the batteries from each other and the boat. Then let them sit overnight, disconnected and test again. Great time to do maintenance such as cleaning, inspecting connections, etc. A battery that is bad or deteriorating will have lower voltage than the others and will typically lose more overnight than the others.

One bad battery can mess up the performance of your bank. Here's my experience of that:

Two years ago, to prepare for our current lifestyle as full time cruisers, we completed the refit of our boat, which included a battery bank of six high quality 6V Mastervolt AGMs. Total capacity 1200amh. Installed and recommended by our electrician, who is a wiz and I trust him.

Fast forward to earlier this year we were getting low voltage alarms going off when the battery monitor was showing 78%. It didn't make sense that our battery bank would be at 10.2 volts having used only 1/4 of capacity.