Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2014, 08:47   #16
Hull Diver

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay
Re: Hookah Diving Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by TacomaSailor View Post
We removed a stuck Maxprop and replaced it with a fixed prop using only snorkels.
I would opine that most people would find this very, very difficult to do. I know I would never want to try it and I make my living doing it (with a hookah.)
Old 07-02-2014, 09:13   #17

Boat: Caliber 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by fstbttms View Post
I would opine that most people would find this very, very difficult to do. I know I would never want to try it and I make my living doing it (with a hookah.)
We were in 15' crystal clear water with a very smooth and clean bottom. Two guys in the water and me pushing tools from the dinghy. Didn't seem like a big deal at the time but I know nothing about diving with bubbles and just did what I was told.
Old 07-02-2014, 09:16   #18

Boat: Catalina 30

Quote:
Originally Posted by TacomaSailor View Post
We were in 15' crystal clear water with a very smooth and clean bottom. Two guys in the water and me pushing tools from the dinghy. Didn't seem like a big deal at the time but I know nothing about diving with bubbles and just did what I was told.
I think fstbttms is referring more to the physically demanding aspect of removing a prop while free diving. Some of us get winded doing that on the hard. Never mind free diving.
Old 07-02-2014, 09:17   #19
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontherocks83 View Post
Any suggestions for weights or buoyancy control when using a hookah so you're not constantly fighting getting pulled to the surface?
Yes, just use a standard weight belt with whatever weight added to keep you neutral based on your body and any suit you're wearing. Just don't over weight, go for neutral at +/- 20'.\