Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-01-2024, 19:48   #1

Dual Touch Screen Monitors

With apologies if this has been covered elsewhere. I didn't find it in my searching, but I assume I'm not the first with the question...

I am in the process of upgrading the electronics on my trawler to include a PC with dual touch screen monitors to primarily run Open CPN. I'm new to the s/w but want the redundancy and resiliency of having something that isn't Simrad.

I've got the system currently set up in my house before installing on the boat. What I'm finding is that Open CPN isn't happy with my two-monitor setup, having occasional issues with resizing the Open CPN window. (So far this is cleared up by exiting the program and restarting, but the display almost always gets corrupted when manually resizing the window.)

So my issue: I would like to have two instances of Open CPN running; one on each monitor showing different views. As this doesn't appear possible, the closest I've come to this is the canvas layout, but the view gets corrupted each time I've tried to extend the program across the two (identical) monitors. I'm assuming there may be some issue with the display cache and I'm hoping there's a configuration setting that solves this.

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated by this newbie.

Thanks!

Steve
Kallisto 5369
Kallisto_Capt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2024, 20:36   #2

Boat: Morgan 382
Re: Dual Touch Screen Monitors