Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2024, 05:11   #1

Boat: Grand Soleil 42
Starlink - one subscription with two hardware?

Hi there,

I am new to Starlink products and services. None of the resellers I have spoken to can give me an answer, and I have not had an answer to me email sent directly to the company.

It's simple! I need a Starlink solution onboard my sailing vessel. Starlink Roam is the right package. It will be permanently installed. Then my home - I am not happy with the current broadband provider at my home outside Oslo, Norway. A wired solution is currently not an option, we need planning permission to develop the buildings and install a permanent wired broadband solution. I am currently using mobile broadband. It's costly and very unstable. So, the question is Starlink Residential.

So, my question is, can I use the same Starlink subscription? That means one subscription shared between two hardware installations? I can't be at two places at once! There will be two fixed aerial installations; can they easily share the same subscription?
Mogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2024, 05:21   #2

Boat: Shuttleworth Advantage
Re: Starlink - one subscription with two hardware?

No, my understanding is that you would require 2 subscription plans. If you only intend to use one at a time your option would be to park the plan you are not using.
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2024, 05:24   #3

This was on the StarLink web site. Maybe it helps.

What is a service line?