Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2024, 03:20   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: currently...Tunisia
Boat: Neel 43
Posts: 48
B&G Radar - setting up a guard zone

Hi,

next to AIS I would like to use radar warning when doing offshore cruises.
I have a B&G Zeus 3 plotter and a B&G radar.


To set-up a guard zone, the manual states:
Quote:
Activate the menu, Select guard zones, then select one of the guard zones
However, there is no such menu entry.
B&G is not responding to requests.
Anyone an idea how to get this running?
Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20240608_120955_B&G.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	250.7 KB
ID:	290654  
COOGOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2024, 03:38   #2
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark (Winter), Cruising North Sea and Baltic (Summer)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 34,340
Re: B&G Radar - setting up a guard zone

There are a few confusing branches in the menu system; keep looking and you'll find it.

The Navico radars have exceptionally good DSP -- their best quality in my opinion -- and this means that they can be tuned to give exceptionally few false alarms with the guard zones, making them really useful.

You have to tune the radar carefully, however, avoiding too much clutter suppression and using enough gain, not to miss any genuine targets.

Radar guard zones are a tremendous enhancement to watchkeeping. I always set them in open water.
__________________
"You sea! I resign myself to you also . . . . I guess what you mean,
I behold from the beach your crooked inviting fingers,
I believe you refuse to go back without feeling of me;
We must have a turn together . . . . I undress . . . . hurry me out of sight of the land,
Cushion me soft . . . . rock me in billowy drowse,
Dash me with amorous wet . . . . I can repay you."
Walt Whitman
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2024, 23:07   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: currently...Tunisia
Boat: Neel 43
Posts: 48
Re: B&G Radar - setting up a guard zone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
There are a few confusing branches in the menu system; keep looking and you'll find it.
Trust me, I crawled through all menus, but no luck so far.



Thats not the only bad UI design. Alarm-popups for AIS are annoying and dangerous.
Annoying, because the only pop-up for a second (as long as the other vessel gets in range), and once you can read what boat it is and how far away, the 'ignore' function works only for the moment. When the boat gets out and in range again, the game starts new.... So after some time you use 'disable' which disables the alarm completely.

Dangerous, because if you press 'ignore' in the second when the popup disappears, you may disable the autopilot, as this button is right underneath.
..but thats probably stuff for another thread
COOGOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2024, 00:49   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: currently...Tunisia
Boat: Neel 43
Posts: 48
Re: B&G Radar - setting up a guard zone

Fun fact: The menu is different when you are sailing then when you are in the harbour. Sailed last night from Sardinia to Tunisia, and the option to set-up a guard zone was easy to find....
COOGOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2024, 06:13   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Other people's boats
Posts: 1,128
Re: B&G Radar - setting up a guard zone

Quote:
Originally Posted by COOGOR View Post
Fun fact: The menu is different when you are sailing then when you are in the harbour. Sailed last night from Sardinia to Tunisia, and the option to set-up a guard zone was easy to find....
Silly question, but from your first screenshot, you did scroll down within the menu, yes? (I don't know why they leave blank spaces in the menu like that.)
requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2024, 09:22   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: currently...Tunisia
Boat: Neel 43
Posts: 48
Re: B&G Radar - setting up a guard zone

Quote:
Originally Posted by requiem View Post
Silly question, but from your first screenshot, you did scroll down within the menu, yes? (I don't know why they leave blank spaces in the menu like that.)
Yes...I went through all menus
COOGOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2024, 10:05   #7
Registered User
 
Recy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Boat: Sun Odyssey 45.2
Posts: 153
Re: B&G Radar - setting up a guard zone

You can also ask here.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/117021058359123
Recy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halo Radar Guard Zone mackerel man Marine Electronics 1 10-06-2024 05:09
Raymarine or B&G radar owners - can you silence a contact inside your guard zone? The Wolf Marine Electronics 1 08-01-2024 09:33
Airmar "Transom&q uot ; style triducer does not give wate Franziska Marine Electronics 3 04-10-2021 12:45
BR24 radar plugin for NAVICO Guard Zone to detect only moving targets franciscocr OpenCPN 2 19-06-2018 01:17
Simrad / B&G radar guard zone alerts mikedefieslife Marine Electronics 25 27-09-2017 05:21

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.