Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2022, 20:22   #1

Boat: Beneteau 461
Send a message via Skype™ to suiramor
Question Reasonable SSB/email starter pack?

I am new to hamradio; just passed my general license but otherwise my only experience was listening to Radio Liberty in my younger years. I am looking to explore using HF radio for, in order of priority: 1) getting gribb files and other email 2) emergency comms 3) connection with other sailors in an offshore setting. I am a bit loathe to spend $5000 (quoting Pizzazz from another thread) on something I have no experience with. What should I be looking for in terms of equipment that would allow me to get some experience while still in the near-coastal waters for the next year or so? (the local hamradio club is trying to find some local folks with experience in the marine space as well; I know of sat phone options and plan on using one as backup for the other).
suiramor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2022, 23:39   #2

Boat: Ericson 27
Re: Reasonable SSB/email starter pack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by suiramor View Post