Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2020, 16:15   #1

Is my condenser leaking?

Condenser gets cold, just not real cold. Took the condenser down and it looks to me the tubing has corroded. Could this be galvanic corrosion. Tubes ice up very quickly,but condenser is not getting real cold.Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0265.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	431.1 KB
ID:	221501
Seaman gagging is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 14:07   #2

Re: Is my condenser leaking?

Anyone got any advice for me

Thanks in advance
Old 18-08-2020, 17:35   #3

Boat: Catalina 470

Gagging Seaman,
I'm not a refrigeration expert by any means....but I actually do have some advice for you...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seaman gagging View Post
Anyone got any advice for me

Thanks in advance
1) Post your question on marine refrigeration issues in the "Plumbing Systems, Fixtures" and Refrigeration forum....
Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f115/

Rather than here, in the "Marine Electronics" forum.
(you will certainly get some decent advice there, and hopefully from actual marine refrigeration experts, such as Richard Kollerman, etc...)

2) When posting your questions there, describe your system (brand, model, year installed, year last serviced, etc....as well as your refrigerator / freezer box sizes, insulation types / thicknesses / age, describe door seals, types/ages, etc..)

And, of course include the most important pieces of info...such as where you are located now, what your ambient temps are (air and water temps), where you're cruising / plan on cruising, types of usages of your system (frig only, frig/freezer combo, spill-over, etc.), how often you open the boxes, how much "warm" food/drinks you put into the boxes, etc..