Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2017, 08:38   #16
always in motion is the future
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 19,242
Re: Installing N2K network

You want to measure if you see two 120 Ohm terminators on the network. They are in parallel so the meter should show close to 60 Ohm. It's easy to do when you have a user attachable connector or a cord with one connector cut off. You measure on the data lines, blue and white IIRC.

Example: the Maretron WSO100 wind instrument does not have a terminator. At least some Airmar instruments have an internal terminator that can be disabled. Some cables have a built-in terminator. Many things can go wrong but the meter will show that quickly. When you measure 60 Ohms, remove one terminator and you should measure 120 Ohms. Then remove the other and it should go very high. Then reconnect the one first removed and it should show 120 again, then the other and test for the correct 60 ohms.
If you measure something like 55 or 40 or any number that doesn't make sense, start disconecting displays and sensors to find the culprit. I like to start with just the cable and terminators and add while checking.
__________________
Its a trap! - Admiral Ackbar.

s/v Jedi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2017, 08:40   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SF Bay
Boat: DownEaster 38
Posts: 250
Re: Installing N2K network

Thanks, Jedi. I am slowly getting to grips with this stuff. I appreciate your help (and patience).
Bob
bobmcd625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2017, 09:08   #18
always in motion is the future
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 19,242
Re: Installing N2K network

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobmcd625 View Post
Thanks, Jedi. I am slowly getting to grips with this stuff. I appreciate your help (and patience).

Bob


It's a pleasure to help; I encountered terminations problems often. I always recommend to use external connector-based terminators either attached to the last T's in the network or the special in-line terminator for a masthead sensor. That way you can disconnect any instrument and still have termination for the rest of the network.
__________________
Its a trap! - Admiral Ackbar.

s/v Jedi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin GMS 10 network port expander vs network hub gettinthere Marine Electronics 0 04-06-2013 16:42
Power Supply for N2K Network? Dockhead Marine Electronics 10 02-12-2012 05:19
Raymarine / Furuno N2K Integration Experiences? Pyxis156 Navigation 9 17-02-2010 13:50

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.