Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2024, 18:01   #1
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 1,109
Garmin AIS not reporting

Can anyone tell me is it normal for a Garmin AIS600 to not report when at anchor ? Or does it just report when its moving ? Or is this unit faulty ? I factory reset it put mmsi and all back in and it reported twice in the first 24 hours and zero since the last 2 days. All ok light is on and in the setup software says reporting every 6 mins ???????
__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2024, 00:42   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 683
Re: Garmin AIS not reporting

What do you mean by reporting ?

Do you mean you are not "seeing" other vessels or do you mean other vessels are not "seeing" you ?

From ITU-R M.1371-5, for class B AIS transceivers they send the following reports at the designated intervals:

Dynamic Information (eg. Position, Speed, Heading)
Speed less than 2 knots, every 3 minutes
Speed 2 - 14 knots, every 30s
Speed 14-23 knots, every 15s

Static Information (eg Vessel Name, Callsign, Dimensions)
Every 6 minutes

If your unit is only transmitting every 6 minutes, it suggests that it is not sending Dynamic Information and perhaps it does not have a GPS fix ?

Does the setup software indicate that the GPS is working and it has a valid position ? Any other faults indicated in the setup software ?
stevead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2024, 02:47   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 1,109
Re: Garmin AIS not reporting

Sorry it is not transmitting the dynamic or static information but the unit reports good gps fix and no errors.
__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2024, 03:28   #4
Registered User
 
ranger58sb's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge
Posts: 5,493
Re: Garmin AIS not reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmalina View Post
Sorry it is not transmitting the dynamic or static information but the unit reports good gps fix and no errors.
How can you tell it's not reporting?

-Chris
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger58sb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2024, 04:04   #5
Registered User
 
AnsleyS's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Maine
Boat: Kadey Krogen 42
Posts: 269
Images: 2
Re: Garmin AIS not reporting

Make sure that the mute cable is not grounded.
AnsleyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2024, 12:11   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 1,109
Re: Garmin AIS not reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger58sb View Post
How can you tell it's not reporting?

-Chris
I run the local Marine Traffic station !
__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2024, 13:44   #7
Registered User
 
ranger58sb's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge
Posts: 5,493
Re: Garmin AIS not reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmalina View Post
I run the local Marine Traffic station !

Ah.

Maybe try to repeat that factory reset thing, see if results are the same? (Two reports in first 24 hours, then nothing?)

If the same, I suspect your next step might be Garmin tech support?

-Chris
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger58sb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2024, 02:05   #8
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 1,109
Re: Garmin AIS not reporting

Opened her up and found this ! Anybody any idea what it was or has a unit they could open and photo ???? TIA
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20240527_154606.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	452.8 KB
ID:	290322   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20240527_154548.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	452.9 KB
ID:	290323  

__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, garmin

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN not reporting a special NMEA 2000 AIS target SoggyPaws OpenCPN 19 21-06-2023 14:36
Autohelm ST50, Garmin Plotter, Garmin AIS and OpenCPN seglar-lulle Marine Electronics 0 09-03-2015 03:53
New SiiTech AIS Reporting System For Yachts sinbad7 Marine Electronics 36 05-08-2011 06:51
Is Garmin GARMIN/GARMIN (Host) Mode Working ? Sail323 OpenCPN 13 13-11-2010 06:36
AIS Position Reporting by Satellite sinbad7 OpenCPN 1 23-05-2010 13:06

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.