Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2021, 11:48   #1

Boat: Bristol Channel Cutter 28 1878
dual sets of navigation lights

I've got a 12-volt masthead navigation light wired to a panel, and am thinking of adding an additional port and starboard light on the cabin sides. I'm an electronic novice. Can I wire all of these to the same panel switch or do I need to add a new switch for the second set?
Penna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 12:18   #2

Boat: Najad 373
dual sets of navigation lights

No you may not. Nav lights are on either at the top of the mast or at deck level, not both together
Quebramar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 12:25   #3

Re: dual sets of navigation lights

And to clarify, the tricolor masthead light is only for when sailing. So you should have a separate set of nav lights near the pulpit and a steaming light on the mast for when motoring. . Just don’t turn them all on at once.
Pandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 12:50   #4

Boat: Bristol Channel Cutter 28 1878

Thank you both!
Penna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 16:10   #5

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penna View Post
I've got a 12-volt masthead navigation light wired to a panel, and am thinking of adding an additional port and starboard light on the cabin sides. I'm an electronic novice. Can I wire all of these to the same panel switch or do I need to add a new switch for the second set?