Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

View Poll Results: Would you use my application?
No, I'm not interested, I only use _____ (put your favourite brand here) 2 33.33%
Curious, I might try it as an auxiliary display along with my ____ (put your favourite brand here) 4 66.67%
Interested, I already use third party solutions only and they work fine for me. 0 0%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2017, 16:08   #1

Need your opinion about my software

Hi,
This is my first post here but I have visited this forum many times in the past. I'm a mechanical engineer who likes to develop electronics and write software in free time. Some time ago I have developed a CAN-USB device and have written a simple application for displaying data.

Since NMEA 2000 protocol is CANbus based I was wondering if adding direct support for NMEA 2000 to my application is a feature anybody would use. Currently it is possible to display NMEA 2000 data but the process of setting things up is rather tedious, so I'd like to make it more user friendly in case I get a great posititve response here.
The data can be displayed in analog or digital gauges (for now only two different controls are available) which can be customized. The software will be free but you need CAN-USB device to connect NMEA 2000 network to PC, laptop or tablet to display data.

I have attached an example printscreen of a desktop. Basically you can put as many gauge widgets as you like and organize them. For now the application is still in development and is for Windows OS only.

So I'd like your opinion. Do you think my application can serve a purpose in nautics or are there plenty of similar solutions so there's no need for another one? Would you use it or why not?