Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-01-2010, 09:55   #1

Boat: 1986 Chaparral 287XL
Help Me Pick a GPS

I'm looking at buying a handheld GPS unit for coastal cruising this summer. I will be using it in lakes and rivers around the South East too.

I want to know your thoughts on what you have and if you like it or not. I'm looking in the $350 or less range. What options should I look for? What about the map options, do they come pre programmed or will I have to buy seperate maps? Can I connect it to my laptop to plan and download routes? I've heard some have built in tide tables and moon phase/fishing forcasts, are they accurate?

Sorry for all the questions but I'm new to GPS. I have a lot of charts but would like to be able to reference a GPS from the cockpit while driving. It would come in handy for areas that I don't have charts for too. I guess it's time to join the 21st century of boating.

Thanks,
Eddie
eddiej82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 10:03   #2

Boat: 1985 Seidelmann 37 - s/v Bright Eyes
I'm no expert but i've been looking at the garmin series.

This 540s comes with a depth sounder and a $100 rebate
Garmin GPSMAP 540 / 540s
Old 29-01-2010, 11:45   #3

Boat: gulfstar ketch 41 Surya
If you have a lap top get a GPS USB. They are 25 bucks on ebay and then use seaclear software free to navigate with.
S/V_Surya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 11:56   #4

GPS