Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-02-2022, 17:50   #1

Upsizing anchor - suggestions?

Old Catalina 30 with a 10kg rocna + 20ft chain + a couple hundred feet of nylon. On east coast of FL but expect to see action in the Bahamas and at least up to the Chesapeake, hopefully farther north.

The rocna has dragged on me once (sandy mud, 6:1) out of a handful of times out, but i am a noob so likely a technique/spot selection error. Still, I'm looking for better sleep and so plan to go up a size and add more chain.

Watched a buncha Steve's vids and am inclined toward the vulcan, but if someone has a vintage 10lb CQR they're looking to get rid of...

In all seriousness, readily available to me are 15k rocna, 12k,15k vulcan, and various deltas and claws. Worth goin for the 15k vulcan? Other ideas?
soopad00pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2022, 18:01   #2

Boat: Paper Tiger 14 foot, Gemini 105MC 34 foot Catamaran Hull no 825
Re: Upsizing anchor - suggestions?

100 feet of chain and use all of it for a good nights sleep.
Mr B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2022, 18:24   #3

I agree, it is best to have all chain Rode. Your anchor does sound a little undersized. Maybe I am wrong about that what. Does rocna say?
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2022, 20:37   #4

Rocna has me square in the middle of their range.

The anchor locker on the cat 30 is kinda small and flimsy. Dunno if I can get away with monster amounts of chain...

That said, it sounds like you guys are saying more chain is better than a bigger anchor...
soopad00pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2022, 03:11   #5

Always. It's the chain that holds you.
mrcarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2022, 04:17   #6

Cruisers Forum Supporter