Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2011, 14:51   #1

Boat: FP Athena 38 - Breakaway
Jib Furler Broke - Now What ?

Hello All! I am pretty new to sailing and need a bit of guidence on this. THe tube that extends upward on my jib furler snaped in half. I jsut saw this sailing the other day. I don't think the tube is repairable, but do you know if I can purchae this part by itself, or can I only buy the whole system? There are no marking on it wehat so ever, but doing some reserch it appears it my unit is a profurl brand unit.

How hard is this to replace? Is this something to leave to an expert, or can I fix myself? I am pretty handy and can fix about anything on land, so I assume this whould not be too difficult.

TIA for all your help!

Brian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0052.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	345.2 KB
ID:	27994   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0053.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	350.0 KB
ID:	27995  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0054.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	414.0 KB
ID:	27996   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0055.jpg
Views:	193
Size:	406.1 KB
ID:	27997  

mtnsapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 15:12   #2

Boat: CSY 44 w/o hull# 158 S/V Leighward
Re: jib furler broke, now what

find out who makes it and go to them for replacement parts. good luck...Ed
Old 02-06-2011, 15:23   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: jib furler broke, now what

The tubing comes in sections... just need two replacement tubes...
Can do it yourself... but you'll need help..

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..
"I Love You.. ". Murray Roman.
Yet the 'useful idiots' of the West still dance to the beat of the apartheid drums.