Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2020, 05:16   #1

Boat: S2 9.2C
Manual vs electric head?

Our boat came with a brand new, uninstalled electric head. I've never used one before. I'm trying to decide if I should sell it and buy a manual, or take the plunge into the unknown with the electric one. Thoughts?
CamWrenRoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2020, 05:20   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Re: Manual vs electric head?

I would never go back to manual toilets myself.

Electric toilets have all these advantages:

1. Macerating waste dramatically reduces the risk of clogging. Electric toilets are worth it just for this alone.

2. Macerated waste is better for the sea environment.

3. It is much easier to get people to flush enough through with an electric toilet. If not enough water is flushed through and urine stands in the pipes, the pipes will calcify.

There are others. The only downside is they don't work without electricity, but if you lose all electrical power you've got much bigger problems than how to flush your toilet.

I think they are the bee's knees. Just choose carefully; they are not all created equal.
We must have a turn together . . . . I undress . . . . hurry me out of sight of the land,
Cushion me soft . . . . rock me in billowy drowse,
Dash me with amorous wet . . . . I can repay you."
Walt Whitman
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2020, 05:58   #3
Marine Service Provider

Electric toilets aren't complicated, power consumption is minimal and they require a lot LESS maintenance than manual toilets..plus they're are a no-brainer for landlubber guests to flush.