Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-06-2008, 15:14   #1

Levac plumbing question

So the boat I bought has 2 levac heads, great, I hear wonderful things about them. But I've never used one before, and apparently no one at my marina has one either. I was having trouble getting water to fill the bowl when I pumped, noticed lots of hissing air noise, and finally discovered that both seawater lines had pinholes in them. Same place on both lines, at their highest point about 3 feet above the waterline before going down to the throne. After wrapping the pinholes with duct tape, I get water flowing back into the bowl, but still plenty of hissing because I didn't completely seal them. So, my question is, are these 'vents' in the loop necessary to keep from siphoning, and just a cheesy way of doing it? Or is it just a strange coincidence that they both got holes in similiar places? Is it ok with a lavac for me to replace the hoses and not worry about venting the loop?
Old 25-06-2008, 15:20   #2

the holes are as designed.

you need to close the lid to create a vaccum and get water pumping in. there should be a sticker that explains how they work that came with the toilets we put our sticker on the wall.

they should hiss as this is how the siphon is broken. the bigger the hole the more water remains in the bowl. in this case "cheesy" to me translates to "brilliantly simple"

cheers,
Adam Yuret
s/v Estrella
Magellan 36' Ketch
www.sailestrella.com
AdamY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2008, 20:01   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43
The anti syphon holes are essential.

The anti syphon holes are essential.

Without them if you forget to turn off your seacock or don't notice, a below the water line bowl will overflow and sink your boat.