Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2020, 13:29   #1

European “Gaz” adaptor?

Hello everyone. I am new to sailing and this forum. I recently purchased a brand new Fontaine Pajot Astrea 42 catamaran, built in France. It came with a butane hose for the stove. I’ve been trying to find an adapter that will allow me to connect to a standard USA style propane tank with no luck. I have purchased various adapters and fittings from Amazon, defender.com and West Marine with no luck. https://www.defender.com/product.jsp?id=58932
So far my dealer and the manufacture have not responded to my request for help on this topic.
Here are some photos. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A0F3DE73-80C4-419F-9244-3C285C7801A9.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	429.3 KB
ID:	216775   Click image for larger version

Name:	DE8B2637-AA37-4081-9639-19BBAFCB8F73.jpeg
Views:	52
Size:	253.6 KB
ID:	216776  

Click image for larger version

Name:	AF88A75C-4E1E-4283-B8AD-5F572B2B7028.jpeg
Views:	61
Size:	253.0 KB
ID:	216777  
mrnewps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 02:39   #2

Boat: Fountaine Pajot Athena 11.6m Rapa Nui II
Re: European “Gaz” adaptor?

The simple solution would be to cut off the Camping Gaz regulator and fit a US Propane regulator with a barb end and hose clips. The other end will most probably be a 3/8" BSP compression fitting. I understand that it can be difficult to get BSPP or BSPT fittings in US. You can cannibalise the old fittings by carefully cutting off the crimps and fitting new hose and crimps.

Email to info@fountaine-pajot.com should get a reply with information and availability, price and lead time of any parts
Rapanui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 02:42   #3