Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-09-2023, 09:02   #1

Boat: Oates 37'
Composting head?

I have an electric Jabsco head in my Adams 40, which worked well until it stopped pumping out recently. Previous owner thoughtfully left a Jabsco repair kit aboard. I've done that job before on a hand pumped Jabsco, not pleasant but effective. The boat also has a holding tank that's been installed for years but never turned on, we very successfully use a porta potty which fits in the head when too close inshore for direct discharge. T

The current system has remarkably few odour problems, but thinking about the potential horrors and possible long-term implications of leaks in the old holding tank and pipe system if I connect them now has led me to contemplate the possibility of ditching the lot and installing a proprietary composting toilet, of which many brands are available.

Does anybody have experience with composting toilets on board, any advice would be greatly appreciated.
powerpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2023, 09:18   #2

Boat: EggHarbor,Sportfish,35
Re: Composting head?

Calling Mike.Calling Mike. Aisle 9.
landsend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2023, 09:29   #3

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37

Here is a recent thread that might help:
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...et-276742.html

Composting, or dessicating, heads have had a good deal of discussion over the years and the general consensus is pretty positive. If you do a search here you will find more discussions of pros and cons of various brands..

The size of the unit may be a factor for you too, depending on the space you have available, and that may limit the brands available to you.
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2023, 09:32   #4