Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Propellers & Drive Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2022, 12:54   #1

Boat: C&C Red Wing 35'
How To Patch a hole on Atomic 4 Gas Engine

I’m not a mechanic but sailing with an old sailboat with an old engine and liveaboard, I’m definitely need to learn and deal with it. It is an old model Atomic 4 gasoline engine. Recently has a cranking sound while cruising and when I inspecting it, found a hole not far from alternator and the oil is splitting from it. I try to run the engine for a few miles with cloths stuffing the hole and I’m still doing 3-4 knots, but of course, I’m burning and leaking oil like nobody’s business. At first I was thinking to just patch that big hole to prevent the oil splitting. But after talking to some mechanic (and sounds like they do get the ideas from Moyer Marine), say that I should patch the tiny hole on the cylinder inside the hole to prevent oil leaking, not the big hole from what we seen (refer picture or video below)

My question is:
1. If patching a big hole on the engine, anyone has experience on this? What material you use?
2. Anyone know what is the hole inside the cylinder? Any idea how to stuff/patch that hole? (I try to search for the correct name of the cylinder or detail picture online, no luck for it. The engine user manual is old and not helpful)