Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2021, 04:06   #1

UK Instructors

Im seriously considering getting a yacht, however I have no big sailing experience. I do have some dinghy experience, an RYA day skipper ticket on power and years ago plenty of time on canals and rivers on small canal boats.

I'm thinking about getting the boat then spending a week at a time sailing with an instructor and learning on a one to one basis whilst cruising around the UK with the view to getting some qualifications along the way.

Is this something that is achievable? Where do I find the right instructor?

Thanks
Adibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 04:09   #2

Boat: Swarbrick S-80
Re: UK Instructors

Pretty much any sailing school will set this up for you.

Just contact one that is convenient and gets okay reviews.

I’d recommend an RYA school as their instructors have gone through a pretty rigorous training program.
ChrisJHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 05:54   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: UK Instructors

There are a couple of ways to do this.. one is what you are considering..
The other is what I did.. I enrolled in 3 RYA Theory evening courses, Coastal Skipper, Offshore and Ocean. I then bought a 24ft boat and spent a year+ refitting her before taking her out and learning by trial and error with the help of Glenans Sailing Manual for tips and techniques, a year after launching I booked an instructor/examiner from a Poole RYA school and did my Coastal Skipper practical as a solo sailor in and around Poole Harbour.
I find I learn better on my own rather than being told how to do practical things and sailing is very much an individual sport to my mind, instructors are often too rigid in their thinking.
Just choose what suits your personality best.
https://www.technical-recreational-c...evening-class/

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..