Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-12-2019, 08:35   #1
Naf

Boat: Edel 665
RYA Yachtmaster Fast Track

Hi everyone!
I've been reading on here for a few weeks now but this is my first post.
It's been interesting reading the insights of this experienced group!

My wife and I picked up sailing a couple of years ago, not knowing anything about it we picked up an Edel 665 and started to learn the basics.

We live in Canada and sail on Lake Ontario.
We've done a few long weekend trips (4-5 days).

I've been researching in aims of getting to some longer term cruising and how to get the experience to be competent.

Has anyone had experience with an RYA Yachmaster "Fast Track" program?
They essentially schedule the RYA training curriculum along with practical sailing experience into a 14-15 week consecutive process.
see example: https://www.sailing.gi/fast-track-co...er-fast-track/

I'm considering a sabbatical from work and as I'm not experienced enough to take off cruising, I thought this would be an option.

Any opinion on an ideal location to do this training?
I'm thinking summer, June-Sept timeframe.

Appreciate everyone's feedback about these programs.

Naf
Naf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2019, 16:09   #2

Re: RYA Yachtmaster Fast Track

Funny you should mention this....as I'm planning on taking this exact course starting in February 2020! Have got everything in place as far as renting a flat in Hamble Le Rice...and will fly out of Mexico City at the end of January (I'm Canadian but retired in Mexico)….I'll be posting my trip and experiences on facebook but if you want more information you can pm me.
BTW....it's not cheap considering you need to covert to British Pounds....but hell...it'll be a great learning experience.
Dennis Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2019, 16:40   #3

That program appears to be designed with the goal of working in the industry, and need the certification.