Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-12-2023, 11:51   #1

Boat: Tayana 37
Private Training

I’ve taken the RYA Competent Crew and Day Skipper practical courses as well as the associated online navigation course. Unfortunately, I did not perform at a high enough level to pass the Day Skipper course. The instructor stated that most students that pass have had prior boating experience and I have had zero experience. The RYA Day Skipper license is required by most/all Mediterranean charter firms as well as by many countries even if sailing your own boat.

I’m an American; however, I thought the ASA system for the equivalent courses were far too compressed, so I went with the RYA. The RYA courses which I took in the UK in the Solent were over a longer period of time, but they throw a lot of material at you and I just had too much difficulty absorbing the material in the time span required.

So, I believe the best course of action would be to buy a boat and hire an instructor for private training on my boat. Additionally, as I will be single-handing I would need training on best practices for single-handing.

I’ve located an insurance company that will provide insurance cover for newly minted skippers. For skippers without prior experience, they would require an insurance sign-out from a USCG licensed skipper. The insurance sign-out form essentially covers what the RYA courses cover, although, interestingly with no coverage on sail handling.

My Plan: (1) Buy a boat located on the east coast of the USA. (2) Hire a private instructor and conduct training in the port of purchase. (3) With the instructor sail the boat to my home port in northern Florida conducting training along the way. Receive my insurance sign-out. (4) At this point I should be sufficiently competent to continue learning on my own in a safe fashion.