Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-07-2010, 06:39   #1
Neo

Boat: Pearson 31
Aground in Boston Harbor

My tale of woe is a common story, short and easily told. The carelessness that led up to the incident is no less common but maybe more interesting.

It happened yesterday while sailing on Boston Harbor in my club's Ranger 23. The breeze was 8 knts and the tide was low. A sudden stop, a look up, an Oh ****, and we were aground in Lower Middle. Not the first to be there and won't be the last.

Made a quick call to the dock house, lowered the sails and motored off with relative ease. (Should have lowered the sails first.)

Do I feel like a total failure? Not quite but close. Do I feel the like the south end of a horse headed north. Yes.

The sad part is, in hindsight I'm not surprised that this happened. I have been sailing in the harbor on and off for 5 years. Just long enough to start feel really comfortable. Just long enough to take the edge off. Just long enough to put my feet up and have a laugh. (As a matter of fact, that is exactly what I was doing.) But not long enough to learn all I need to know. Obviously.

The point is it's the middle ground, no pun intended, where the most danger lies. In the middle of the learning curve. After the bug eyed early days when you make lots of mistakes in real time but correct them immediately, and the later years when you do all the right things by habit. Man is a creature of habit. The trick is to use that to your advantage.

Thankfully, the boat seems to have suffered minimal damage. Must have hit a rock. There’s a 3’” gash on the leading edge of the keel a few inches up from the bottom. No apparent cracks in the hull.

The dock staff couldn’t have been nicer. They gave me a tow just in case there was more extensive damage to the hull or rudder, and did their best to minimize my folly by telling me stories of greater folly. God bless them.